Music Teachers Online - The online directory for music education. Music Teachers Online - The online directory for music education
Professional Music Teachers in Australia

Phil Collings

General Details

Dip Mus, Grad Dip Mus

Phil performs in a variety of musical contexts ranging from the real-time composition and dissection of form and melody in The Borrowed Time Trio and ReAssemble, to the rock styling’s of Australian rock iconoclast Kim Salmon, and the linear and dexterous compositions of Australian composer Kate Neal.
As such, he approaches every musical situation with a mind to create an individual timbre set and vocabulary unique to each scenario, involving combining various sets of cymbals, drums and percussion to provide the desired pallet.
Currently Phil is performing with the following Artists:
The Borrowed Time Trio, The Ben Carr Trio, Mike Brady, Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Steve Sedergreen, Stu Thomas Paradox, Dan Flynn and the State of Things (Bass), Justin Brady, Mikelangelo, P2, ReAssemble, The Light Switch, The Flaming Mongrels, Kim Salmon & The Surrealists, and the Phil Collings Trio.

Phil is also touring with the Ilbijerri Theatre Company production of Jack Charles V The Crown which has just returned from seasons in Canada (2016), at the Barbican in London UK, and The Dublin Theatre Festival (2014). The 2013 Australian Tour won the coveted Helpmann Award for Best Regional Touring Production. Up coming seasons include Melbourne Arts Centre (2016) and Toronto, Canada (2017).

Phil has led and written for his own projects, namely the Phil Collings Trio, which played the Apollo Bay Music Festival on the back of the 2003 CD release of “Music Room – Phil Collings trio”, and has a composition featured on the ABC Jazztrack 30th Anniversary Album.
As a producer, Phil is Artistic Director and co-founder of record label Crackbell Records ( dedicated to new Australian music, and also works with Castlemaine based Label/Production company: Filmharmonix, which produced “Jack Charles V the Crown – Music from the Stage Production” Audio CD.
Previous performance and recording credits include:

Lou Bennett and the Sweet Cheeks, Wouter Kellerman (Grammy Award Winner 2014), “Superimpose” – Alexander Schubert (BIFEM 2015), Darren Middleton (Powder Finger), The HalfTides, The Guild League, Lucie Thorne, Emily Ulman, Jex Saarelaht, Tom Fryer, Ren Walters, HarDi & Co, Blue Drag, Tangazo, Danny Healy Quartet, Colin Hopkins Trio, The Silo String Quartet, and The Blue Grassy Knoll (Broadway NY, USA 2001 Season).

These details were last updated on May 23, 2016