Simon Cobcroft

  • Bachelor of Music
  • Queensland Conservatorium. Performance Fellow
  • Australian National Academy of Music.

I've recently relocated to Sydney as the acting Associate Principal Cello with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra. I've really enjoyed teaching for over 20 years, from an intermediate to tertiary and post graduate level.


Simon Cobcroft is the Artistic Director of the Coriole Music Festival, and for almost 10 years has served
as Principal Cello with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. He is a member of the critically acclaimed
Lyrebird Trio, familiar to audiences around Australia and further afield, since winning the 2013 Asia
Pacific Chamber Music Competition. Simon studied at the Queensland Conservatorium and the
Australian National Academy of Music. Since graduating, he has held principal positions with the
Queensland Symphony and Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestras, and has performed with London's
Philharmonia Orchestra, the Bournemouth Symphony, Denmark’s Esbjerg Ensemble, the London
Philharmonic Orchestra, and as principal with the Tasmanian and Singapore Symphony Orchestras.
Recent highlights include performances as guest principal cello with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra,
the Australian String Quartet, Tinalley Quartet and with Pinchas Zukerman and friends. He has appeared
as principal and soloist at the Aldeburgh, Pacific and Salzburg Music Festivals. Simon has performed the
cello concertos by Haydn, Elgar, Saint-Saëns and Bruch with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, winning
the 2016 Adelaide Critics’ Circle Award for his performance of the Elgar Concerto. In previous years he
appeared as soloist with the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Sydney’s Metropolitan Orchestra, the
Queensland Symphony Orchestra and Orchestra Victoria. Simon studied with Matthew Farrell, Janis
Laurs, Alexander Baillie, David Strange and Michael Goldschlager. He plays on a beautiful English cello
made in 1840 by Thomas Kennedy. In his spare time, he loves to cook.

6-18 Poplar St, Surry Hills
Sydney, NSW


More Information

Details last updated: January 14, 2024